Hello community!

February 26, 2010 at 12:09 pm | Posted in Information | 1 Comment
Tags: ,

Well hello, today is the first day in a public coporate role, it also the first day of spring so I am quite optimistic.  I have now become Nokia’s Maemo Developer Advocate.

I have been watching the growth of Maemo for many years, from its first early days as a small project in Nokia to the release of the first handset.  Unfortunately, my work has steered me away until recent, so until last year I never really knew just now much fun Maemo development actually is.

I have just come from Maemo software development, where I have been brushing up on my C++ skills and getting into scratchbox/Qt/QtCreator coding.  I am a long-time Nokian, and I have spent many years in applied research, and in product development.  By background contains elements of audio engineering, multimodal multimedia, CORBA, distributed systems, embedded component based software and medical software.

As a developer advocate my role is to support the developer ecosystem and help guide Nokia’s contribution, for the benefit of both.  So, my goal is to listen, and to understand the issues, pain points, good things, etc. and investigate how Nokia can help.

Any suggestions on how to do this are welcome.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Welcome! Maemo is a good community, remarkable harmonious for being composed of end users and developers. :-)

    I look forward to meeting you in all the familiar places; IRC, the MeeGo lists, etc. I think many developers will be quite frank with you and let you know where they think the pain is. But right now it would be a great help to make as much of MeeGo as public as possible. I know this is going on behind the scenes, but be prepared for developers to be a bit upset since their familiar development tools, build system, and APIs just up and vanished.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

